Un gout de Narbonne

Un goût de Narbonne! (A taste of Narbonne!)

The city of Narbonne looked nothing like this when Roman troops descended on it. Yet they left their mark as did others. Today, you can still walk along the Via Domita and it is  the heart of this city. As you travel through these photos, be sure to click on and really take it all in.

 

DSCN2263
Plaza Centrale de Narbonne et Canal de la Robine

From this side of the canal you can proceed to the first small street to the right. There are shops on both sides and from some of them you can look out over the canal. At the end of the street is the heart of the village and VIA DOMITA lies directly in front of you.

DSCN2256
Canal de la Robine avec Les Halles

Les Halles has been in this enclosure since 1901 and is only closed a few days of the year. There are stalls all around and in clusters in between. On offer is fresh seafood, breads and pastries, fruits and vegetables, cheeses, olives and so much more. There are restaurants inside but they are all set up as bars and the food cooked to order. If you want to have lunch there, don’t wait too long as they get crowded quickly. Different seasons and festivals will have specialties on offer. Of course, there is plenty of wine. Do your shopping early as it closes up at noon except for the restaurants.

DSCN2258
Les Halles depuis 1901
DSCN2266
l’estagnol Restaurant

Just after Les Halles is l’estagnol restaurant. It has changed little over the years I’ve been here. A few menu changes and decor but the biggest change is the additional space in front. As the season progresses, additional chairs and tables will be brought out to the newly tiled area between buildings and the canal. Thursdays is market day in Narbonne and as large as the extended plaza is, the vendors and café’s fill it so you can just about make your way through.

DSCN2271
Bon appetit!

A light but delicious lunch at l’estagnol was just the thing.

DSCN2274
L’art

l’estagnol like many of the other restaurants and shops have begun displaying are by local artists. I prefer to sit outside, weather permitting, or a window seat. However, I had not seen this work before so decided to take the rear view.

DSCN2280
Plaza grande centrale

It is my hope that these photos will give you an idea of just how large this area is. Make sure you are clicking on each photo to get an enlarged view. To the right you may notice the elevator to provide improved access to the canal.

DSCN2282.jpg
Plaza grande centrale

A view of the other side of the canal with the heart of the city in the back right corner.

DSCN2260
Le canal de la Robine

The canal is still a bit quiet but that changes rapidly as the tourists stream in. Narbonne is a very popular destination here in Europe. Often I’ve sat at a table in Place de Ville and practically made a game out of the variety of languages coming from the nearby tables.

DSCN2295.jpg
Walking over the canal

This little street opens out to the heart of the village . If you turn right you go back to the grand plaza. Left will take you to the tourist office.

DSCN2299
Le coeur de la ville – The heart of the city
DSCN2300
Centre

Soon many more café tables and chairs will encroach on the center of the city. You could not choose a lovelier place to have a café or glass of chilled rosé. On sunny days I will spend an hour or so at my favourite café reading and people watching.

DSCN2311
VIA DOMITA

Yes, you can actually walk on the VIA DOMITA.  There is a plaque on one end and a map on the other. The next photo and a few others were shot while standing on the ancient road to Rome.

DSCN2315

Hôtel de ville

Behind the windows where you see the flags is a very large room, ballroom size.  It is hung with elegant tapestries and filled with ornate chairs and other such furniture. The mayor’s office is also inside as are other offices.

DSCN2321
Entry to museum and chapel

Once you enter this arch way, it is much like walking on the Via Domita.

DSCN2323
Saint-Juste

Saint-Juste is one of the most impressive cathedrals. Alas, no photos were allowed inside. I’ve taken many photos from other cathedrals, including Notre Dame de Paris but not here.

DSCN2324.jpg
Cour Saint-Eutropé Cathedralé

There are a few more photos of this cathedral but with all the other photos I’ve taken, I’ve decided to do a part II so we shall return to Narbonne soon.

When I began putting this post together, I had made many historical notes but then decided to just show you around a city I spend so much time in. If you come to Narbonne one day, you may see me out on the Place de Ville with a book or journal and a glass of rosé.

Bisous,

Léa

22 thoughts on “Un gout de Narbonne

  1. Thank you for this wonderful trip through Narbonne. I needed a mid-day pick me up, and if it can’t be in France, at least it can be from a blog post about France!

    1. If France can’t pick up someone’s spirits, I highly recommend checking their pulse. I shall be in Narbonne tomorrow and will raise a glass to you and the hope you can return to France one day soon. Thank you!

  2. There is something surreal about your photos and Narbonne, seems like I could get lost in this city ~ so much to offer. Open air markets seem to be an automatic attraction for me, gives me a sense of good, healthly living and people who care. And also a perfect place to just sit back and enjoy. Via Domita would be an absolute must too, feeling the history of a city or an area is an important part of living. Wish you a great day.

    1. Randall, you are kind and I thank you. I’ve always been drawn to the open air markets myself. Our village has one every Wednesday but it is much smaller. The Via Domita is very special to me and perhaps I shall include the reason in part II? I clearly remember the first time I saw it, as I hadn’t known it was there. I’m off to Narbonne shortly and it is market day there. I hope I can get a few more photos for the post. Thanks you!

    1. Thank you Anna. I think so. While I prefer living in my little village, it is where I go once a week for some of the things not available in my village. I also enjoy a bit of time and people watching in the square.

  3. Hi – Bonjour Léa! 🙂 I know Narbonne very well… j’espère que tu vas bien et que tu es en forme… my very best, bonne semaine et amicales pensées… ❤ à+! 😉

Leave a Reply

