Kamil Vojnar

“Surrealism is destructive, but it destroys only what it considers to be hinderances limiting our vision.” Salvador Dali

 

20171025_113449.jpg

KAMIL VOJNAR: LIFE IS A JOURNEY

As my dear friend Rita and I strolled the winding streets of Saint-Remy-de-Provence in the late October sunshine trying not to miss anything we were rewarded with the small Provence gallery/atelier of Kamil Vojnar. 

20171025_113432.jpg

The artist was born during the Cold War, 1962, in  Moravia, Czechoslovakia. He studied at the School of Graphic Arts in Prague after completion of his military service (tank commander) and later  The Philadelphia Art Institute and The Art  Student’s League of New York.

20171025_113349.jpg

Alas, if I had more skill in the art of photography and perhaps a more than an old point and shoot camera, I could have done justice to his work. Regardless, my purpose here is to introduce as many as possible to  Vojnar’s remarkable vision. To see it up close and personal is to really comprehend its magic. His images reach out to the viewer, enfold them and infuse their message. This was one of those times that I wished I could run everyone out of the atelier, lock the door and be alone with the work that mesmerized me and leaving me to write their secrets behind shuttered doors.

20171025_113315.jpg

20171025_113539.jpg

20171025_113035.jpg

20171025_111936.jpg

It is my hope that you will search out where you can view some of his works nearest you. They are most certainly worth both time and travel to do so. To see the artist and learn more about him and his work, I recommend the following link replete with video. https://vimeo.com/90886154 please give it a glance.

 

Bisous,

Léa

14 thoughts on “Kamil Vojnar

  1. Thanks for this post Lèa, I’m not familiar with Vojnar’s work and find myself drawn into the pictures in an attempt to see them—my curiosity is piqued. For sure, I’ll be following the Vimeo link in a mo. Thanks again.

      1. Just viewed the video, what an interesting and modest man. I like his work, his technique, very much. Thanks again for the intro 😄 xx

      2. It is really an amazing experience to view his work.. I’m sure you would be inspired. 🙂 xx

    1. I’m just happy you are back! As for the art, I can understand thinking they are paintings but in fact his art is photography but unlike any I have ever seen.

  2. These are really beautiful, Lea. And the way he works is fascinating.I watched the video.Certainly I will be seeking more of his paintings . Thank you.x

    1. Judith, they are more than beautiful, they are enchanting and weave a spell over you in their presence. However, they are photographs and not paintings. Alas, my photos do not do them justice. Thank you. x

    1. You are so kind. Alas, my photos do not really reflect all the stories and secrets of the photographs. I should truly like to lock myself inside with nobody else there and write what they tell me. Truly inspirational!

Leave a comment