Montolieu

Originally posted 12 December 2011, I couldn’t resist as this magical kingdom combines several of my favourite addictions. Books, Writing, Books…

found-in-france

Montolieu

has less than a thousand inhabitants yet this small village is the home of more than 20 book shops. Perhaps it will come as no surprise that it is well known for its writer’s workshops.

Montolieu

The village square, adjoining the massive cathedral, has a delightful fountain and is a marvelous place to read, write, or watch the locals play péntanque.

Village du livre

There is a museum of the printing press with a myriad of presses and other printing equipment that has been used to create the printed word. The collection is extensive and quite impressive.
The village is located in the Midi-Pyrenees region and north-west of Carcassonne in the Montange Noir (Black Mountain). This lovely village has a proud reputation as being “Ville du Livres” Village of Books. In addition to the bookstores and the museum, there is a large stone complex of buildings that are devoted to…

View original post 155 more words

20 thoughts on “Montolieu

  1. Beautiful. I will read the original post when I have better connection. My ipad won’t upload websites right now. I can only read post through wp app today 😦

      1. Not to mention I shall be back up there shortly for the Truffle festival in a nearby village and since we shall be in the neighbourhood… 😉

      2. I went a few years ago for the first time and blogged about it! The taste is incomparable! One cannot imagine. Fortunately, I am happy with a taste once a year as they are selling for 1,000 a kilo! Bon appetit! 🙂

      3. Indeed. Maybe it’s good that it’s so rare. Otherwise we would not only have war because of oil, we would have it for truffle too!

      4. Wow, I hadn’t thought of it that way. I doubt that most people ever get to try it. Please don’t give them any ideas as they may start in on us for that…

  2. Oh there is so much more to it and if one digs into the blog, you will probably find a few more about Montolieu. I love it and will be there again the weekend of the 22nd. A friend coming over from London loves it as much as I do. Since I drive her around when she is here, I shall just have to be brave and go with her once again. Thank you for taking time do comment. Lea

    1. There are several posts about Montolieu and the paper mill nearby. It is one of my favourite places so I do understand. I shall be up there again next week… They do many writer’s workshops, there is a print museum… pack your bags! 🙂

Leave a Reply

