La mer, off season

From April until well into Autumn, our beaches stay filled. However, for some of us, it is still too beautiful not to go for a walk along the magnificent shore and perhaps enjoy a café, glass of wine or even a meal and stare out to sea. There are bits of obliging wood for writing messages in the sand and the sand is damp which is perfect for castles.

A quiet day at the beach
A quiet day at the beach
A willing you artist leaves his mark in damp sand
A willing young artist leaves his mark in damp sand
Tranquility!
With obliging bits of wood we draw and leave messages on the shore…
King of the hill, or at least the sand pile
King of the hill, or at least the sand pile
Enjoying the view...
Enjoying the view…
to the lighthouse...
to the lighthouse…
A few hardy souls!
A few hardy souls!
...
The sea air does increase the appetite and what could be better?
The sea air does increase the appetite and what could be better?

There is still some time before the tourists begin to arrive to enjoy filling the lungs with salt air, writing volumes in the sand,

While these photos were taken at Port-la-Nouvelle, there are numerous beaches along the Mediterranean which are happy to oblige.

Bisous,

Léa

40 thoughts on “La mer, off season

  1. je connais bien tous ses jolis endroits… 😉 as-tu fredonné “la mer” de Charles Trenet?!… 🙂 il était né à Narbonne où il revenait souvent… his house was across the street of the one of my hubby’s paternal grand-parents… small world again! 😉

    1. Mais oui! Actually, I could hear the song in my head as I put the post together. 😉 Unfortunately, I haven’t visited the house yet but it is on the list and no doubt will feature in a future post.

  2. Offseason really is the best time for ocean exploring. The sand castle pictures make me want to get out there to build some, but that might have to wait a few more months since the sand is still frozen here. 🙂

  3. Beautiful Lea and I adore the beaches in the winter time. Something pretty special about having the beach to yourself. I do a lot of thinking there and dreaming. Love the pictures too.

    1. The sea is magical in any season Kath and I just cannot stay away. However, I do adore the summer and can’t stay out of the water. Thank you!

      1. Kath, I’ve always been a serious water baby. However, it must be salt water. Yes, I’ve been swimming in pools and even lakes but the sea has my heart. I have salt water in my veins.

      2. Kath a Mermaid is too graceful for me. I think I am more of an otter? I just can’t stay out of the water.

  4. My family and I, all six of us, spent our summers in France. It is a beautiful country. I still dream of moving to Antibes and walking through that old town dressed like Pablo.

  5. Beautiful photos Lea, the first one is my favourite – what a view. So long as I am near the sea it feels like home 🙂 Thanks for sharing these lovely images 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

