Thoughts of Spring

Chilly, grey days such as today are fertile for the mind wandering down the path to Spring! Spring with its many delights. Here are a few delights from my village and from nearby Albas (sheep) to turn your thoughts to warmer days.  Last but certainly not least, I offer a few photos from one of the greatest gardens of all, Giverny.  Today the photos can do the talking.

...
After the rain
After the rain
Almond blossoms
Almond blossoms
Deep purple...
Deep purple…
Poppies scattered in a vineyard
Poppies scattered in a vineyard
Lovely to look at, fragrant but my personal nemisis
Lovely to look at, fragrant but my personal nemesis
Sheep shearing
Sheep shearing
Before
Before
After
After
Milk lamb - unweaned between 4-6 weeks old
Milk lamb – unweaned between 4-6 weeks old

 

Entrée du jour
Entrée du jour – Bon appétit!
Sharing sunshine with a friend
Sharing sunshine with a friend
Mimosas
Mimosas
How's your garden?
How’s your garden?
Lilas (Lilacs)
Lilas (Lilacs)
Wisteria
Wisteria
Monet's garden - Giverny
Monet’s garden – Giverny
More from Monet
More from Monet
The arbor leading to Monet's home at Giverny
The arbor leading to Monet’s home at Giverny

 

Spring is just around the corner and we have much to appreciate when it arrives.

Bisous,

Léa

29 thoughts on “Thoughts of Spring

    1. Cynthia, it is an annual event in nearby Albas which also hosts a wonderful Art festival each year. As for myself, I’m not really a meat eater. 🙂

    1. Thank you for stopping to comment. It is nice to know you are still enjoying the posts. I hope you are staying warm and dry in New York? 😉

  1. Lea I love these beautiful photos, looks like they were cooking up a mean barbecue. Well I guess you could say Im looking forward to Autumn, even though we have had a very mild summer here. No bush fires at least. Another year of wonderful changes ahead.

  2. You read my mind! The white and gray snow has been making me crave color so I’ve been looking through summer photos for a possible post. Beautiful garden photos – it’s nice to see green again!

  3. Ah the almond blossom, gorgeous. And Monet’s garden too, just fabulous. I want to go there!!! All photos are so lovely Lea, thank you for bringing spring into this cold wintry day. xxx

    1. Christine, we must thank Polly who got me going with her wonderful Sunflower poem. However, it was you I had in mind as I choose the flower photos. It is cold here as well. A friend saw the first Almond blossom of the season last Saturday and it was still January… here’s hoping! 🙂 xxx

  4. They’re lovely (well, except for the skinned animal 😉 ) and just what I needed to see in my dreary white world. Sometimes it feels winter will never end, but images like this remind me it will.

    1. Ah yes, the lambs are part of the rites of spring… It is grey here and fellow blogger Polly Robinson got me started with her wonderful poem about Sunflowers. Thank you Carrie.

    1. Ah yes, I lived in NY for nearly six years and understand. It was lovely today and I saw a few telltale signs of spring… I really don’t deal well with the cold.

    1. I had to drag out all those photos as it was so very cold that day and I had to remind myself winter wouldn’t stay. Spring is rebirth and an excellent metaphor for hope. Despite all that, I am always anxious for Summer… 😉 XO

    1. It is an amazing garden. My only disappointment was that Monet’s atelier had been converted into a gift shop. Fortunately, Cézanne’s studio is intact and feels as if the master just stepped out for a moment… 🙂 Léa

Leave a Reply

