Bridges

A bridge is a structure built to span physical obstacles. Often that is a body of water but also for terrain or roads. Bridges connect something and often someone to somewhere and someone else. I’ve always had a fondness for bridges and with my background in Psychology, I’ve long worked helping individuals, couples and families building other kinds of bridges. The bridges you will see here are symbolic for me of the work I have done and continue to do. However, they are also a thing of beauty, not only for their appearance but for their purpose.

Le passerelle - Durban
Le passerelle – Durban

Le passerelle a Durban
From our little passerelle (footbridge) a few short yards from my door we are connecting both sides of the village the older part of the village (shown) to the newer additions, la poste, marie (mayor’s office) and the schools to name a few. The grand suspension bridge of Millau (below), is stunning and the views there are breathtaking. The first time I crossed it, I had only been in France a few weeks. I had taken the train up north to purchase my car from the daughter of friends. The bridge was a complete surprise as I began to cross it and about halfway across, it began to snow.

Creissels et Viaduct de Millau.jpg

The Millau Viaduct is the tallest bridge in the world (courtesy-Wikipedia). The bridge was constructed to increase autoroute access from Paris to Béziers and Montpellier. Since I don’t have my own photos and this bridge deserves its own post, I shall not go into it any further at this time.
Modern bridge – Durban
There is one more ‘bridge’ in the village connecting the two sides. It is a few meters beyond the modern bridge. However, it appears as nothing more than a bit of driveway as it must be closed when there is more than a little water in the river.

By definition, a bridge
A bridge – loosely defined

 

 

My personal favourite
My personal favourite – Durban

My personal favourite actually does have water running or sometimes crawling along beneath it. Sunday morning it was at overflow due to the rains but as the rain subsides, so does the river.

Pont de Limoux
Pont de Limoux

 

 

 

 

 

Pont du Gard
Pont du Gard

One of many bridges in Nimes beautiful gardens
Pont du Gard – ancient Roman aqueduct bridge
Pont du Gard is one of the most visited bridges in all of France. It was built in the 1st century AD. It is the highest of the Roman aqueduct bridges and the one in the best condition. In 1985 UNESCO added it to the list of World Heritage Sites due to its historical importance.

While there are many bridges everywhere you go in France, I will close with one of the most photographed and loved.

Japanese Bridge - Monet's gardens
Japanese Bridge – Monet’s gardens

It is my hope that you will have enjoyed the bridges and one day discover these and more by exploring France.

Bisous,

Léa

 

18 thoughts on “Bridges

  1. Lovely post Lea. Bridges can be very symbolic. In recovery from alcoholism we are told that AA is a bridge to normal life. This is very true.
    I love all your photos here and what a beautiful one to finish with! xxx

  2. Lea I must say when I was in Paris the bridges over the river were so beautiful. I am sure by the looks of these that the countryside has lots to offer. Lovely photo’s thanks for my tour.

  3. You posted the most gorgeous pictures, and the writing reminded me of the beauty of a song that I would like to share. It sums up the meaning of a bridge to someone’s heart.

    1. How kind! I’m afraid some computer issues have all my plug-ins blocked so at the moment I cannot play the song. However, I do thank you and look forward to hearing it in the future. Léa

Leave a Reply

