Montolieu et salon du livre ancien

...
Salon du livre ancien

It is always a delight to spend the day in Montolieu. La village du livre is small with a population of less than one thousand. Yet, this beautiful village nestled in the  Montaigne Noir is home to twenty bookshops, a massive compound where paper-making, book-making and other related crafts are taught and celebrated. Naturally, being France, artists are to be found at nearly every corner. However, that is another post. Wandering from bookshop to bookshop is not without consequences. One finds that they end up making trips back to the car with each load of books that were just not able to pass up. There is always the museum of book and paper making and the old compound that still makes and teaches the arts of book and paper making. There are also workshops and classes available for writers which bring visitors from different countries. While the majority of the books are in French, there is truly something for everyone.  I head for the poetry sections and always manage to expand my collection of French poets.

livres, livres...
livres, livres…

The Montolieu foyer was turned over to various collectors who had books to sell. This is over and above the twenty bookshops scattered around this charming village.

...
et plus de livres

... ...                       ...     ...

Vending machines for organic produce!

IMG_0119

Fresh organic produce available 24/7
Fresh organic produce available 24/7
Fresh from local gardens
Fresh from local gardens
A variety awaits you!
A variety awaits you!

Something I have not encountered before is the automated produce system. Everything was fresh, local and organic! Just down the road is a bookshop/restaurant which is organic and where Yvonne and I were served an excellent lunch. It happens to be the same shop where we had the amazing chestnut cakes on a previous visit. If you would like to see more check out these previous posts:   https://foundinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/montolieu/ and https://foundinfrance.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/michel-braibant-museum-conservatory-of-book-arts-crafts/ Regardless of when you visit Montolieu, you will leave enchanted! Bisous, Léa

35 thoughts on “Montolieu et salon du livre ancien

    1. Thank you for taking the time to stop by and comment. Honestly, in six and a half years of living here, I haven’t been anywhere I didn’t really enjoy!

  1. Oh my gosh Lea, this looks like heaven! Where is that teleporter?! And all the wonderful fresh produce too. It all looks so lovely; even in a photo it looks so much lovelier than the rubbish available at supemarkets here these days. And I clearly rememberthe chestnut cakes! Yum!

    Love

    xxx

    1. Unfortunately, this time the chestnut cakes were gone before we got there… 😦 However, lunch was delicious and organic! It is the most amazing village and somehow my car seems to know its way back there… 🙂

      Love
      xxx

      1. Absolutely, with a stop for coffee in our favourite garden? However, it may be a lot quicker if you use the tele-porter… 🙂 Do you remember the Paper Mill series? That is very near Montolieu…

      2. Yes. This is paradise and my love affair with France just grows and grows. Now all I have to do is get you here and I have no doubt you would not be disappointed with the gardens here! We also have great café… 🙂 xxx

    1. You won’t be sorry! When I have a guest it is a popular visit! You might even pick up a book or two. Two books of poetry somehow found their way into my hands… 🙂

      1. Ah, and it does! In fact I am waiting now for a book that I can’t wait to get my paws on! But more about that later… 🙂

  2. Wow….I worked as a professional calligrapher for many years, and was deep into the book arts. If I went to Montolieu I would probably O.D. and have to be taken away on a stretcher. I am in love with handmade paper, books, all of it. I see there is an abundance of feuilles…any evidence of plumes?

    1. Have you looked back in the blog posts and seen the ones from the Brousses paper mill? I did a three part series about the process, the mill and the beauty surrounding it all. Part one is from 1 September, 2013. If you check it out, I hope you enjoy the posts and thank you Cynthia! The Brousses mill is only a very short drive from Montolieu so it would be easy to check them both out while in the area! 🙂

  3. Bookstores in foreign lands are always a treat to see, even if I don’t speak the language written in the books. In Paris, though, I remember encountering a couple bookstores that had English-language books, too. I got lost in them for hours.

    1. Ah, perhaps one was Shakespeare and Company. It is located across from Notre Dame. It is the most amazing place, not just a bookstore and if interested I can recommend a book…

      1. If you want a refresher, I did a post on it about two years ago with lots of photos. There is a fun book called Time Was Soft There by Jeremy Mercer. A Canadian journalist who lived in the bookstore for about 9 months and wrote about it.

  4. It’s nice to see paper books celebrated like this in this age of electronic everything. I can practically smell the books and the fresh produce – a perfect combination!

  5. Lea I have only been to Paris and I know the villages like Montolieu would be something to see, smell and taste. Oh those book stores look divine. I love your posts they take me to places I can only dream about at the moment. Thank you.

    1. Yes, Montolieu is in the Black Mountain and you can take a picnic or find a delightful restaurant there. 🙂 Thank you for the follow and for the reblog. Now you see why it is one of my favorite villages… 🙂

Leave a Reply

