Keep walking…

Marker shows flood level of November 1999
Marker shows flood level of November 1999

If I go a bit overboard, perhaps you will forgive me. However, I love my village and can’t get enough of it or of the photos! There were a number of photos I took  that I was unable to access while getting the post out this morning so I am continuing with the walk about the village. Even with this post there are still photos left…

The staircase to the left takes you up to the footbridge that crosses over to the school, the mairie (mayor’s office), the poste and much more. Most of the houses on that side are much newer than where my house is which is just a few meters from these stairs. The marker on the way up the stairs shows how high the water rose during a storm in 1999. The ground floor of my house and many others were under water. The old market and a number of other buildings across the river were destroyed. Yet it proves that you cannot keep a great village and wonderful and determined people down!

As I write this, it has been raining since yesterday afternoon. Soon, once again, it will be filled, flowing and watched for signs of flooding. It is suppose to be on a 40 year flood cycle. However, last year came a bit close.

Thank you for joining me on my walk. I do hope that for those so inclined, you will one day leave your footprints here.

Bisous,

Léa

It is difficult to get lost here...
It is difficult to get lost here…
Stairs to the footbridge looking down
Stairs to the footbridge looking down
More of the tiny apples
More of the tiny apples
Chateau through the pines
Chateau through the pines
Newer builds
Newer builds
Tennis anyone?
Tennis anyone?
Old Olympic souvenir!
Old Olympic souvenir!
Soccer stadium
Soccer stadium
In the pines...
In the pines…
A road less taken...
A road less taken…
23 thoughts on “Keep walking…

  1. Oh these are gorgeous Lea! We would walk, stop for coffee, walk, stop for coffee, …

    How floods can take their toll on a place, but as you say, nothing stops determined people

    I LOVE your road less taken!

    Love

    Christine

    Xxx!

    PS Im looking at your bridge with new eyes since your comment on my post 😊

    1. And after that, Christine, un café ou deux? 🙂
      The people here are remarkable to say the least.
      That is a lovely “road” but a car could never go that way. It takes one up above the village and the view is stunning! My camera likes to walk there frequently but especially during blackberry season…

      Love,

      Léa

      Xxxx

    2. By the way, Christine, the bridge connects the old village (the heart) with the new (school, mairie, poste…).

      I enjoy bridges more than I even realised and France is rich with some amazing ones! I’d love to hear your thoughts on “my bridge”.

      Love,
      Léa

      Xxx!

      1. Your bridge connects you to your part of the natural world in exactly the same way my tree does for me! Both much more meaningful than we would ever have known! There must be so much more that we have yet to “see”!!

        Love
        Xxx

    1. Thank you Cindy. There was a meeting Friday night at the foyer to talk about possible flooding but our choir was performing and I still have failed to master being in two places at once! 🙂 It’s nice to hear from you.

    1. Thank you for coming along! I do know what you mean about all the signs, the old stone buildings and so much more. Actually, my house is an older building. It is over 350 years old. I wonder if that may be a post in itself? 🙂

  2. And from the looks of those pics, you have every right to be proud! Exquisite scenery, lovely post. We are new to your blog by way of mutual blogging bud, Cindy Knoke. We enjoyed visiting & look forward to stopping by & seeing more of your Beautiful village & other posts!

    1. While I have yet to find a corner of France that I don’t absolutely love, this is “my corner” and I love it dearly. I’m so glad you have come along. While I adore Paris, there is so very much more to love about France. The most incredible asset is her people.
      Thank you for choosing to follow one of my blogs and I hope you will continue to enjoy it.

      I do love taking my camera out for a walk with me. However, it is a simple point & shoot and I do not have Cindy’s skill in photography.

Leave a Reply

