Giverny: Part I

Pathway to Monet's front door
Pathway to Monet’s front door

The magnificent garden of the late artist, Claude Monet, is divided into two parts. There is the flower garden, Clos Normand which is in front of his house and the Japanese inspired water garden across the road. When the Monet family settled there in 1883 the gently sloping land was enclosed by a high stone wall and an orchard planted. Clos Normand measures about one hectare and in that space, Monet created a garden masterpiece of colour, symmetry and perspective. ... All of the photos you will see here were taken there in the month of May.  You will see some in bright sunshine, a few photos taken during a sudden shower and others taken when clouds did their best to hide the sun all together. Divided into flowerbeds, clumps of flowers of diverse heights creating volume. Ornamental and fruit trees direct the climbing roses, coloured banks of annuals and long-stemmed hollyhocks. Monet mixed the most rare varieties with the simplest such as poppies and daisies. Iron arches cover the central alley which takes you to or from the main door to the house. The arches are covered with climbing roses and other rose trees envelop the balustrade along the house. As is evident, Claude Monet did not care for structured or unnatural gardens. He arranged flowers by colour wanting them to grow rather freely. ... In the passing years he acquired a love for botany and exchanged plants with his friends. Always searching for rare varieties, he spent great sums of money on young plants saying that all of his money went into the garden. Bisous, ... Léa ... ... ... ... ... ...

19 thoughts on “Giverny: Part I

    1. Yes, it is inspiring. I hope you will check out the other parts of this post over time. I have too many photos that are begging to be shown. If I were not on the other side of France, I would be a frequent visitor. Thanks Heather!

  1. Oh Lea! This post has really helped to complete my day!!!

    Beore I looked at any of the words I said to myslf “this looks like the Monet Garden at Roundhay Park in Leeds!! ” what I was actually seeing in your photos was the real thing! They have recreated this at Roundhay Park and it means so much to me.

    I dont know if you are familiar with The Twelve Step Program of recovery, but when it was time for me to complete my step three in recovery from alcoholism ( this step says we became willing to hand our will and our lives over to the care of a God of our own understanding), I chose The. Monet Garden in which to carry this step out. I went there with my AA sponsor and we spent time reflecting and talking about my readiness to pursue the rest of the steps. This was in the year 2003.

    My daughter, Janette suggested we visit it again when she is on maternity leave, which she began last week. So when we go I will take pictures to show you.

    Thank you for this wonderful post!

    Love

    Christine xx

    1. Christine, you were on my mind the whole time I was putting it together. I must have a few hundred photos from that visit. Today’s was part one and hopefully nobody gets board in the next few weeks as I continue to share those photos. Perhaps the Japanese Bridge?

      Your visit coming up sounds lovely and I can’t wait to see the photos. Perhaps some will end up in a future calendar or on cards?

      Yes, I am familiar with 12 step. I have had a number of clients work the program or for some, start it. I had one man that I worked with that took twenty years to get his 30 pin. He had severe ADD and not diagnosed. Once he found that out, he learned ways to control the behaviour and get his life together. He was amazing.

      Stay tuned for the next blog where we will return to Giverny. 🙂

      Love,
      Lea

      xxxx

      1. Good for him! The program isnt an easy ride. You need to be totally committed or no chance. And it has then to become an integral part of life in order to stay well. I love it; it has helped me cope with my diagnosis of MS too.

        I look orward to part 2!

        Xxxx

      2. Yes, it certainly turned his life around. He did have to take medication initially but learned enough behaviour modification to be able to do without the medication.

        I hope you will enjoy part 2 and perhaps more. You wouldn’t believe all the photos! 🙂

        XxxX

    1. Thank you. I have literally hundreds of photos from Giverny so there will be at least a Part II. It is a beautiful place. My only disappointment was that Monet’s studio was turned into a gift shop! That was a huge disappointment for me. I am so grateful that has not been done with Atelier Cézanne. Enjoy your visit.

  2. When we were in Normandy last year, we considered visiting the garden. But we droped it out, because it was too early in the year: early April. I have to reconsider it for another trip. Thanks for sharing and reminding.

  3. These are so beautiful! I especially love the one with the purple clouds. It must be wonderful to go there and then look at his paintings with a new appreciation for the place.

    1. It is an amazing place! My camera seemed to get a bit carried away so there will be more in the next post. I’m glad you enjoyed them and you are right, it does give you a new perspective when looking at his work.

Leave a Reply

