LINDA BASTIDE: Ambassadeur à Narbonne – Ambassadeur Culturel Européen à Logrono

Linda Bastide
Linda Bastide

Linda Bastide is a popular poet from the town of Narbonne. Her numerous books of poetry have been translated to a number of languages including, Spanish, Romanian, Italian and English. She is member of  l’ Académie Française and Ambassador to République de Montmartre.

L’ Académie Française was officially established in 1635 by Cardinal Richelieu and is the pre-eminent French Learned body on matters pertaining to the French language. The Académie consists of forty members who are known as immortels (immortals) and they elected by the Académie itself and serve for life.

Some of Linda's work
Some of Linda’s work

République de Montmartre was founded in 1921 by the most famous artists in Montmartre and continues its charitable and cultural actions. Thanks to the voluntary commitment of its members, citizens, members of parliament, consuls, ambassadors and ministers, it works in aid of disadvantaged children and bringing together visual artists, writers and musicians. This beautiful and great institution ensures that the rebellious yet human spirit on which the legend of Montmartre is built is preserved, while remaining loyal to its motto: Rejoice in doing good!

She is soft spoken, warm and ready with a smile. Most of all, her poetry is a delight to the senses. It was a treat to see her in my village today and gave me an opportunity to obtain another one of her books and chat.

A selection from her latest book: 13 pas dans le sable / 13 steps in the sand …

***

Depuis longtemps je marche,

13 pas dans le sable
13 pas dans le sable

je vais où va le nuage,

je vais où est le soleil,

je veux garder le fil de l’ombre

dans le creux du chemin

bariolé  de voyages, où, peut-être, tu es…

***

I walk for a long time,

I’m going where the cloud goes,

I’m going where the sun is

I want to keep track of the shadow,

in the hollow path

jumbled I travel, where, perhaps, you are…

IMG_7458
Linda in Durban Corbieres 20/05/2013

Bisous,

Léa

One of many newspaper articles about this poet
One of many newspaper articles about this poet

...

My personal copies of her work, to date!
My personal copies of her work, to date!
13 thoughts on “LINDA BASTIDE: Ambassadeur à Narbonne – Ambassadeur Culturel Européen à Logrono

  1. Next you Your writing are so wonderful you need to share them with the world.  love you .  Enjoy your day.  it is beautiful here.  I know it is better there.  LJM   Love, Joy & Magic always Su   Woman are Angels ! if someone breaks our wings, we simply   continue to fly …. on our broomsticks

    ________________________________

    1. Thanks Su! She is a fantastic poet and lovely woman. I am thrilled she considers me a friend. Today she even told me to send her some of my poems!!! WOW!

  2. Lea this is a great post, interesting and fascinating too.

    I may well look her up with a view to buying a book, or presenting it on my birthday wish list to family! Birthday next month so I think I can wait that long!

    Love

    Christine xx

    1. You should have been there when I saw her again! I had hoped but it was a delightful surprise. She gave me her new business card with Republique de Monmartre on it (photo on the post) and we chatted for quite awhile. I tried taking pictures of the inscriptions she wrote on each of the book I bought (one last year and another this year) however they did not turn out.

      You could have knocked me over when she asked me to send her some of my work. She read one of my pieces last year and said she liked it!

      Remember, the best people are born in June! 🙂

      Love,
      Lea

  3. What a fabulous experience for you! And I am not surprised she liked your poems!

    Hooray for all the June people !

    (Remind me of your birth date, I have it somewhere “safe”!!! 🙂

    Xxx

    1. I believe it is shortly after your anniversaire! 🙂 Isn’t it the 13th?

      The problem with sending her poems is that my French is not good enough so they are practically all in English. 😦

      Hmmm, your “somewhere safe” sounds a bit like mine… 🙂 I am the 29th.

    1. Linda is impressive but so very real. She really loves sharing her work and her knowledge. I felt honoured when she asked me to send her some of my work. She has read one that was previously translated and published but most are, unfortunately, in English.

  4. Beautiful poem – in both French and English. She sounds like a wonderful person and friend. I’m sure that book of poetry will help you on your recovery too. xoxo

    1. Thank you Sheila. She is a lovely new friend and I look forward to getting to know her even better. Her poetry is very cathartic. xoxo

Leave a Reply

