Sigean

Center square: Museum, Mairie, Police, Shops and Art Gallery
Center square: Museum, Mairie, Police, Shops and Art Gallery

With a population of approximately 5,000 situated on the coast, Sigean has much to offer. There are a number of excellent boulangeries, cafe’s (including a personal favourite), museum and even an African Wildlife Reserve.

There are open markets each Tuesday and Friday. There is so much on offer that the vendors spill over from the square and take possession of part of the main road.

The charming gentleman who showed Jan and I around the gallery is one of the four artists who displays his work there. He was kind enough to pose in front of a few of his paintings and to allow my camera to click away. One of the artists is a glass blower  and has a workshop in the area so that could provide pictures for a future post?

To be honest, initially, Sigean was a town I passed through on the way to a few of the local beaches. It is also a place where I do quite a bit of my shopping. However, it was once I stopped for a café at La Rotonde that I became hooked. Back several years ago I fell in love with the atmosphere which reminds me of an 1890’s French café. This one has atmosphere and the people are charming. On your second visit, you are greeted as a regular. Three years ago they began serving lunches and dinners when the son took over the family business. The food is excellent and mom and dad come in to lend a hand a few hours a week. It is always nice to see them as well.

As I got to know Jan, my trips to Sigean increased and I began dragging her out of the house for a café. There is much more to Sigean so I imagine there will be another post about it one day.

If you want to know more about the café and some of the music events, and others, they host, you can find them on facebook.

Bisous,

Léa

L'eglise
L’eglise
Gallery entrance
Gallery entrance
Courtyard off the square
Courtyard off the square
The owner of La Rotunde at work
The owner of La Rotunde at work
Center of Sigean
Center of Sigean
Petanque Club Sigean
Petanque Club Sigean
Inside the gallery with one of the artists
Inside the gallery with one of the artists
Some of the work on display
Some of the work on display
Blown glass and a mask
Blown glass and a mask

IMG_7001

A votre santé!
A votre santé!
Jan and a few regulars
Jan and a few regulars
9 thoughts on “Sigean

    1. Yes, it did seem odd to me when I first moved here. But we do have the Wildlife Reserve in Sigean and it is quite popular. Thanks for stopping by to comment.
      I am finally back in the world of Word Press as Reader is once again available to me after such a long wait, Hooray!

  1. Hi Lea, when i read your France blog, I sometimes wish I too could live in lovely France….. most everything there seems so artistic and just interesting. hugs today from grey, cold Denmark….. Leigh

    1. If you are ever near Seattle, check out Dale Chihuly’s Glass Museum! You can preview it online and when you get there it is located very near The Space Needle. You won’t be sorry!

    1. I enjoyed my visit and will stop by again. I truly enjoyed all the time I spent in Canada when I was young. There is still some family there in B.C. It is such a beautiful place. There are fond memories of my grandmother taking me swimming at English Bay, working for my aunt and uncle, the P.N.E., The Stampede in Calgary and so much more.

      Thanks for visiting one of my blogs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

