Holiday and Saturday Market – Carcassonne

Free parking in the center of town, amazing!
Free parking in the center of town, amazing!

The Saturday market is quite crowded as vendors from all around the country join in to sell some of their wares. With my friend Yvonne back in town for a weekend, we were off to the markets where the produce is at its best. Naturally, it would be unthinkable not to stop for a coffee on the way back.

We knew from the moment we arrived that the merchants in town were determined to bring the customers in.  It is not often you are greeted with a gift wrapped parking pay-point!

If ice skating interests you, give it a go! Skates are available for rent and at night there is live music.

Even if you are one of those who completed their shopping early, it can be fun to see what is available and stop for a coffee or one of the many treats on offer.

Bisous,

Léa

Vendors from Alsace with their yummy pretzels
Vendors from Alsace with their yummy pretzels
IMG_6906
For kids of all ages and sizes!
Bargains, bargains and more bargains!
Bargains, bargains and more bargains!
Ice skating anyone?
Ice skating anyone?
You can even by a bed and they deliver!
You can even buy a bed and they deliver!
Produce at Place Carnot
Produce at Place Carnot
There are 12  cafés to choose from in the square
There are 12 cafés to choose from in the square and all are crowded
Saturday market offerings
Saturday market offerings
Spices!
Spices!
Gifts and tasty treats
Gifts and tasty treats
Italian Restaurant on the square
Italian Restaurant on the square – one of many
Hot roasted chestnuts anyone?
Hot roasted chestnuts anyone?
20 thoughts on “Holiday and Saturday Market – Carcassonne

    1. We had so much fun but with great places and great friends, how can you miss? Happy Holidays to you and I thank you for all your support. 🙂

  1. Unfortunately I didn’t got it managed to visit a Christmas Market this year (again), ’cause I was too buzy. Thus I hope for next year.
    Merry Christmas et joyeux noël, Léa.

    1. Hopefully, next year you will take some time for yourself! Often, we are too busy “working” to attend the things that keep us truly alive. Best wishes for the holiday season.

  2. I love the thought of roasted chestnuts, vin chaud, and ice skating. Beautiful, sunny weather for sitting out at a cafe too. Your posts always make me smile – thank you. Happy New Year! 🙂

    1. Glad to hear I am giving something back. You inspire me, or sometimes, a kick where it is needed! 🙂 Merci beaucoup et bonne annee!

      1. You inspire me too! And one of these days I just might have to show up on your doorstep. Merci beaucoup m’amie!

  3. that is so amazing.  I wish i could be part of it.  wow even spices………………Hope i will get attend someday.  Happy Holidays  Love, Joy & Magic always Su   Woman are Angels ! if someone breaks our wings, we simply   continue to fly …. on our broomsticks

    ________________________________

    1. The spices are intoxicating and you don’t have to be right on top of them to have their aroma filling your head with its perfume! Wish you were here to share in it all! Love, L

  4. Hi Lea.

    i didnt have time to give you a full comment on this lovely post. I was caught up in family preparations for Christmas!

    This is a fabulous sight-seeing tour and I so, so wish I could be there!! I can just picture us sauntering and meandering 🙂 It seems like they will have to remain as pictures and that’s a little sad.

    I love the picture of the carousel! They have always held great fascination for me, and recently via facebook I came across a picture which I have been raving about ever since. A good friend on WP described it as “the whole of Buddhism in one image”, which, to me, is an apt description. Anyway the point is my daughter bought a print and framed it for me for Xmas and it is now on a wall at home. I study it every day! I will email it to yo later today!

    I love these “foundinfrance”trips!

    Love

    Christine

    Xx

    1. Hi Christine, You do realize I often think of things/places to show you. However, for now, it seems we shall have to depend on those little bits in the post. Wait until Rita gets her tele-porter working! 🙂 It was time to throw you a curve ball so be wary of people bearing the post! 🙂

      The picture sounds interesting. I cannot wait to see it. I wanted to take a walk this afternoon as it is beautiful outside. However, I had to go into town today (Narbonne) and my feet are shot. Perhaps I got in enough walking for today?

      I have come to believe, for now, you are with me on these trips in spirit.

      Bisous et Love, Lea

      XXXXxxxx

Leave a Reply

