Collioure

With its position on the Mediterranean Sea, Collioure has been a highly desired location. It has been occupied by Roman and Greek Sea Merchants and sailors

Kitchen is inside the bus

and they left a very rich legacy.King Wamba of the Visigoths occupied Collioure in 673. He named the village Caucoliberis and the town was established as major trading port.

This idyllic town perched on the rocky coastline. Its colorful houses seem to rise up out of the sea. This tranquil Catalan harbor with its sheltered bay is where the Pyrenees bows to The Mediterranean. My first visit to Collioure was in November and it was not too cold for a relaxing swim.

Art de vivre has its origins in this Catalan village. The artist Matisse brought his family to Collioure for summers and was quite prolific. He was later joined by André Derain with whom he founded the Fauvist Movement. The artists following this school were often referred to as “la cage aux fauves” or the wild beasts. There works wild with vibrant colors and brushstrokes like Collioure itself. Between the two the produced a formidable amount of work with over 240 drawings, paintings and sculptures in Collioure and its surrounding area.

When you visit Collioure you can discover some of their works by following a trail that winds itself through the village, with replicas at 20 sites where these Fauvist works were first painted or drawn. For maps, information & tours visit Espace Fauve, Quai de l’Amiraute, when in Collioure.

Life is all too short. Visit Collioure and discover its magical powers to inspire!

   Bisous,

Léa


21 thoughts on “Collioure

    1. Running away to Collioure makes sense to me if you live anywhere but here. Fortunately, I can go down for the day… 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and maybe someday I will run into you in Collioure.

      1. I have not been to Oz. The closest I got was Thailand and Vietnam. However, I think that Collioure is the perfect place to run away to. Besides, once there, all of France is right there… 🙂
        Léa

  1. It’s nice and sunny in Sale Moor [Manchester] right now but just not as pretty and colourful as Collioure! XxY

    1. Collioure is a wonderful place. I have been living here for nearly five years and France has its own way of marching to time. I love it all more each day. Thank you so much for stopping by both blogs! It also gave me the opportunity to find you. 🙂 My best to the kitties.
      Léa

      1. Thank you. It is a simple “point and shoot” camera but it gets the blog out. Perhaps you can give me some pointers when you are here. So when can we look forward to your arrival? 🙂

    1. Collioure is amazing! I will be down there again next month taking a visitor. Thanks for the invitation, backpacking is my favorite way to travel. I first came to France for a visit six years ago with a rail pass and backpack. Now it is HOME! I look forward to checking our your site and thanks for stopping by.
      Léa

      1. I love that you arrived there with just a rail pass and a backpack, looking forward to reading more of your adventures! Hope you enjoy the travel challenges. xxx

      2. The only way to travel! I made a few life-long friends on that trip. Now that it is my permanent home, I have the whole of France to explore. That is what these pages are about – exploring home.
        Perhaps you will check in again as I have some exciting plans for July… 🙂
        Léa

Leave a Reply

